Snapchat’s Maps help you use a lot of features like geo-location filters that you can show off to your followers. This was good when limited to filters but the latest research reports show that this feature of the Maps can let others see your location. Listening to this statement can be frightening for many but you don’t need to worry at all.
Snap Maps isn’t ‘Always On’
The feature does not go automatically on so you’ll not be a victim in the first place. Only if you turn on the Snap Maps feature, then you’ll have to look into the matter. To check whether you are using the Snap maps feature already, follow the below given instructions:
- To activate the Snap Maps in the first place, pinch on the home screen and you’ll see a number of notifications for signing up to the feature
- If you get a similar screenshot to the one below while pinching the screen, that means you have already opted to use the Snap Maps feature.
Turning Off Snap Maps
Now that you know that whether you are using Snap Maps or not, you may get an idea to turn it off. For that, look at the top right corner of your screen and you’ll then see a cog icon. This is basically the Settings icon and you have to click it to enter the Ghost Mode option.
Switching that option on, your history will be deleted and even in future, your location won’t be visible to anyone. That means you are totally out of the tracking league. Just to put a double check, disable the permission for searching your location in the Snapchat app through the Settings of your Android or iOS smartphone. Remember, this can block some of your Snapchat features too!