It’s not completely true, your personal information will not be exposed on the Facebook. According to the report, the information feed on the Facebook is shared with the other social networks and different types of the advertisers.
Moreover, from the report, Facebook explained in the statement stated as:
“The categories in this section help advertisers reach people who are most likely to be interested in their products, services, and causes. We’ve added you to these categories based on information you’ve provided on Facebook and other activity.”
Most of the users get insecure about to know their personal information is shared with the advertisers and other websites. There is a simple way, you can see the categories shared by the facebook and you can remove the information that you didn’t want to expose.
Step 1: Click on the right corner of your facebook homepage, click settings.
Step 2. Click on “ads” in the list to the left.
Step 3: Under ad preferences choose “your information” then “your categories”.
Step 4. Remove the category that you want to remove from the hover over the button.
By the above method, you can remove the categories from the list, but you cannot remove the all adds from the Facebook. You have an option of the ad setting.
- Click on the drop-down arrow at the top of any ad and select “Why Am I Seeing This?”
- You will see a prompt in the bottom right corner to manage your ad settings.